Are Bagels & Breads Vegan? 30+ Vegan-Friendly Options You Can Buy At The Store (Plus Gluten-Free Options)

Are bagels vegan?

As long as they don’t contain any animal products commonly used to make bread (such as milk or eggs), bagels are vegan!

In fact, there are many store-bought vegan bagel and bread brands you can buy at nearly any grocery store or supermarket.

I’ll share some of my favorites, as well as what to look for on the ingredients label. Let’s dive in!

Are Bagels Vegan

Table of Contents (Jump to Section)

How to Quickly & Easily Identify Vegan Breads

Before you waste a half hour reading the ingredients labels on dozens of breads (I speak from experience!), here’s a quick tip to identify vegan breads (or anything, really):

Skip to the allergen label under the ingredients and look for the text “Contains Dairy or Eggs”. All food manufacturers are required to put this on any products that contain either of these ingredients.

Check the Ingredients Allergen Label

If you don’t see that warning, go ahead and skim the ingredients label just to be safe (looking for the ingredients below). That way you’re only reading the ingredients of potentially vegan-friendly products and skipping everything else!

Non-Vegan Ingredients to Look Out For

Yes, vegans can eat bread! The majority of bagels and bread products are actually vegan, since most dough is just yeast, flour, water, and salt. 

You may also see additives like guar gum or asorbic acid to help with things like thickening and adding nutrients, as well as a boat-load of other processed ingredients that are still technically vegan (but not necessarily healthy).

Before you buy bread or bagels, look out for any of the following non-vegan ingredients:

  • Eggs, Egg Whites or Egg Wash
  • Butter or Lard
  • Milk or Milk Powder
  • Honey
  • Casein
  • Caseinate
  • Sodium caseinate
  • Whey
  • Mono-glycerides and diglycerides*
  • Lecithin*
  • DATEM (Diacetyl Tartaric Ester of Monoglyceride)*

*These ingredients COULD be plant-based; they’re not necessarily animal derived. It’s best to avoid them if possible.

You also have to watch out for flours that were bleached using bone char (charred animal bones). I would stick to unbleached flour just to be safe.

Vegan Cream Cheese

Vegan Cream Cheese

If you’re anything like me, you love a good bagel and cream cheese spread. Luckily, you can still get that creamy texture and taste with plant-based ingredients! You absolutely HAVE to try Kayla’s vegan cream cheese recipe! Blueberry, strawberry, cinnamon raisin… all the cream cheeses!
View Vegan Cream Cheese Recipe

30+ Brands of Bagels That Are Vegan

The following brands of bagels are vegan or have vegan options:

  • Aldi (sold at Aldi)
  • Alvarado Arnold Bread
  • Arnold Thins
  • Arnold Rolls
  • Cobblestone Bread Co.
  • Dave's Killer Bread (My personal favorite!)
  • Ener-G (gluten-free)
  • Engine 2 (only at Whole Foods Market)
  • Ezekiel / Food for Life (some gluten-free)
  • Glutino (gluten-free)
  • La Tortilla Factory
  • Manna Organics (gluten-free)
  • Mission Corn Tortillas (gluten-free)
  • Nature's Own
  • New Grains Bakery (gluten-free)
  • Northern Bakehouse (gluten-free)
  • Paleo Wraps (gluten-free)
  • Silver Hills (gluten-free)
  • Rudi's Organic (some gluten-free)
  • Sandwich Petals (gluten-free tortillas)
  • Simply Nature
  • Three Bakers (gluten-free)
  • Thomas Bagel
  • Thomas Bagel Thins
  • Thomas Mini Bagels
  • Thomas Sahara Pita
  • Tortilla Land (uncooked tortillas)
  • Trader Joe's brand (sold at Trader Joe's)
  • Trader Joe's Pita
  • Trader Joe's Whole-Wheat Lavish
  • Udi's Gluten Free (some contain eggs, gluten-free)
  • Veganic Ancient Whole Wheat
  • Veganic Ancient Whole Wheat
  • Weight Watchers English Muffins (one of the few vegan English Muffins!)
  • Whole Foods 365 Brand (sold at Whole Foods)​

You may also be wondering if Panera Bread, Dunkin Donuts, Einstein Bagels, New York Style bagels, cinnamon raisin bagels and other types of bagels are vegan. You can find what they’re made of online, so always check the ingredients before you purchase any kind of bagel or bread product.

If you know of any other vegan-friendly bagel brands, please share them with us in the comments!

General Tips for Finding & Eating Vegan Bagels

You now know what to look out for in bread and a bunch of vegan bagel brands you can add to your meal plan! Here are a few extra tidbits you might want to know:

  • Look for 100% whole wheat bread. Bread that doesn't include the "100%" is actually just tanned white bread, which isn't as healthy as the true 100% whole wheat variety. Stupid marketing tactics!
  • Look for "Sprouted" bread. Sprouted whole grain bread is made from whole grains that have been allowed to sprout, or germinate. This increases the amount of fiber, proteins, and vitamins in the bread!
  • Consider Ezekiel bread. Ezekiel bread is sprouted and also minimally processed and without oils, sugars, preservatives, or artificial ingredients.
100 Percent Whole Wheat Bagels

All that said, consider what’s important to you! If you don’t care about the amount of sugar, type of grain, or how much the bread is processed and you just want delicious vegan bagels, get whatever tastes good! (And there’s nothing wrong with that, if that’s what you want!)

Over to you—If you have any questions or tips of your own, or want to share some other vegan bagels you know of that weren’t on this list, leave a comment below! We love hearing from our readers and respond to everyone 🙂



Vegan Cream Cheese

FREE VIP Weekly Newsletter

Real vegan recipes straight from Kayla’s kitchen, plus guides on how to live a healthy & optimal plant-based lifestyle! Absolutely NO Spam.

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Me

Hey there, I’m Kayla! I create budget friendly, easy-to-follow plant-based recipes that can be customized to fit your specific taste! Click here to read more…

Follow Me!